Euro Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.7
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.5
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  3.7
 Food / Dining  3.5
 Total  3.6

"Good Experience!"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Katarzyna S. of Szczecin, Poland
Reviewed:   July 21, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If I will visit Lviv again, I am definitely going to sleep in this hostel. Location is really good, everything is close. I could bother staff anytime for anything and they were never rude to me. Breakfast was included (fried eggs with tea/coffee). There is a big enjoyable terrace as an entrance, where we could sit, talk (smoke, drink), play pin-pong. There is Mc Donald's nearby so it is easy to find if you get lost!
I really recommend this place to everybody!

"Buchung war nicht in Ordnung"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Michael R. of 26789 Leer, Germany
Reviewed:   June 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Es wurden für die Buchung 20 Euro bezahlt. Dem Hostel war eine Buchung nicht bekannt und die gebuchten Zimmer waren nicht frei. Das ist nicht in Ordnung und das Geld ist weg. Ich kann keinem empfehlen, hier zu buchen. Das war einfach nicht fair und ich fühle mich betrogen.

"Sun Hotel (Retro Hostel) Lviv Ukraine"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Eddie P. of Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 26, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
When I arrived at Reception, they claimed that they did not have any confirmation of my booking that I had made through Instant World Booking, having paid with deposit and service charges (for two separate stays).
Also they were not helpful in booking me in, telling me to call back later, and when I did, they asked to to return later once again; I finally stood my ground, and only then was I helped.
The shower was dirty, and was just a handspray in only one lavatory; the shower was disconected in the other wc. Both lavatory flushing systems on the (at least) two floors were broken.
(Instead I used Hostel Kosmonaut, (1st Floor, no 8 Sichovykh Striltsiv Street, Lviv (just off Svobody Prospect, and also very central) - the staff were fantastically helpful, and the place clean, & great value for money, PLUS, just 3 or so doors down from Puzata Xhata, the excellent yet really cheap eaterie of many, many Ukrianian dishes to choose from).
I do NOT recommend Sun Hotel's Retro Hostel in Lviv, Ukraine.

"A comfortable stay"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Deanna L. of Cawston, BC, Canada
Reviewed:   September 21, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The reception was friendly. The hostel is in a great location, and a very short walk to the McDonald's. The kinda weird thing was that the showers were the sink nozzle, and just pulled out and hung on the wall, and then the whole bathroom got wet. I booked a room with 3 beds for 3 nights. I only had roomates the first night, and it was strange for me, as it was a girl and her boyfriend. This made getting dressed the next am challenging, as the bathroom was wet, and there was a guy sleeping at the footend of my bed. I dressed under my covers, and it was fine. The kitchen is sparsley equipped in the basement, with older appliances and dishes, and being in the basement of an older building, it smelled of mildew quite stong. However with that said, the staff do try to keep it very clean, even in the middle of renovations, and I was very comfortable there. I would reccomend this place on a visit to Lviv!!

"very nice experience"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   I. R. of Delft, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 5, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lviv is a phantastic city and the location of the hostel is very central, just some steps from the old town, very near to the concert hall and opposite to the exclusive breakfast place (Konditorei) "Veronika". The staff is incredibly nice and ready to help in any respect of the traveller's needs and questions. There is free internet and drinks can be purchased in the hostel. I had a nice private room with private (very small) bathroom. But in winter even the dormitories offer lots of privacy... The kitchen is well-equiped and there is a washing machine. And once the building works are finished there will be even more facilities. I had a phantastic time in Lviv!

"Nice place withauot luxury."

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Tomek K. of Warszawa, Poland
Reviewed:   July 21, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I could recommend the place to all those who look for a cheap, nice place in perfect location. Very cool old house, nice renovated rooms, small and quite strange but clean bathrooms. Some double rooms without windows :) but for that price it's ok. No food available but it's no problem concerning lots of very cheap and good bars and restaurants.


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




EuroHostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us