Euro Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.5
 Rooms  2.5
 Cleanliness  2.4
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  3.1
 Service & Staff  2.6
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  3.0

"Wonderful memories"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Luigi M. of Jonesboro, AR, United States
Reviewed:   June 19, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A friend and I stayed at Aily Home in November, 1960, because "Nina" had recommended it, and my travel mate marked it in her Europe on $5 A Day, which she still has. We loved it! Our third had left us in Munich to come to Florence alone, but we hung around Munich to buy a VW an drive to Florence. We missed him. We settled into Aily Home, a big, light room with a big bed and wonderful people to help us get around in Florence. Our first goal was to reuinte with our third. We wandered a bit in the area and came to the US Library. Ah, friend said, that's where he would me. We wandered in. We found him. The three of us had a grand meal in the neighborhood, returned to our room and all 3 jumped into the big bed. The Third had another hotel..but the statue of David in the courtyard, the great windows and bed and bathroom and the amazing location. We paid $1.20 per night. What a wonderful memory I have of Aily Home.

"Regular"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Rogério S. of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed:   March 5, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Italyinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Portugues-Portuguese):
A chegada ao albergue foi confusa, e ele parece um apartamento arrumado como albergue. A localizaçao é excelente.

"Long waits and hard times..."

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Meghan B. of San Diego, CA, United States
Reviewed:   January 3, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is fairly easy to find, an easy walk from the train station. Great shower with hot water. However... We arrived in the evening and planned ahead with a 9pm arrival time given in our reservation. We were an hour early and saw a sign outside the door saying "For Hostel please call Nadia" with a phone number. So we looked for a phone, found one that took change near the Palazzo Vecchio, and could not get ahold of Nadia for almost three hours. Finally around 11 someone that worked there happened to be going in for something, offered to take us up and show us our room. Pretty much ruined our first night. Then the next night the same person informed us that the same "nadia" said we owed 160 euro instead of the 120 we had paid for the 3 nites of our stay. We again had to sit around and wait for this to be resolved. Apparently it was Nadia being nadia, according to the other worker, and our original payment was accurate.

"nobody"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   IRINA S. of St.Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed:   December 29, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hello!

I should constate that Aily Home don't function pas. I rang and knocked at the hostel's door 13-15 December, but nobody opened to me.

Irina

"Poor quality for the money, but excellent location"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Joao C. of Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed:   September 1, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Rooms weren't clean, I found bed bugs in beds, very poor matresses. Bathrooms were good. Location is excellent, near Ponte Vecchio, right in the centre of Florence. Staff was inexistent: just found a girl that lives there and is supposed to be an employee. Food/dinning isn't included, but since the hostel is in the centre it's easy.

"Aily Home Florence doesn't exist"

User Rating:  1.1
Reviewer:   Ingrid K. of Atlantis, FL, United States
Reviewed:   August 22, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I arrived in the afternoon and began to call the number I was given with my reservation. No answer. For three hours, no answer. The address isn't on the Florence tourist maps, I asked everyone. I finally went to the police for directions...a tiny piazza with 2 doors. I rang their bell, I waited for hours while it got dark. I had told them when I would arrive. No one there. I finally left and went to a hotel. I found some back packers the next day (when I was circling Aily Home hoping to find out what had gone wrong) who told me of another hostel connected with Aily Home. They now use Aily as overflow for their hostel - I never saw the inside of Aily, but the dirty matresses (in the hall) and cots in this other place and the lack of air, windows, anything! made me sure I was glad they don't answer their phone or door.

"Aily Home is Home Away from Home"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Cara J. of San Francisco, CA, United States
Reviewed:   August 13, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a wonderful experience while at Aily. The staff was incredibly caring, flexible, and accommodating. They helped me get through a pinch when my credit card was stolen and I had to wait to have a new card shipped to me. Nino always has suggestions about where to go and what to do, and they take the time to get to know their visitors. It is also nice to be able to come and go whenever you please from the hostel and have access to the kitchen. All of the other visitors were friendly and ready to explore the city together. This was a wonderful place to stay while traveling alone and I recommend it to anyone going to Florence.

"Aily house in Florence"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Shana W. of Las Vegas, United States
Reviewed:   August 10, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We reserved Aily house on recommendation from a 2-year old edition of Lonely Planet...apparently a lot has changed it 2 years. We arrived as scheduled at 9 a.m. only to find the main door locked and no way in. There was a sign that said "if no answer call...."there was a number, but who backpacks from the states and brazil with a cell phone? Not us, at least. Luckily, some backpackers inside heard us and let us in, then let us use their phone to call the manager. A few minutes later, a very Nice man showed up to tell us he had nothing until 2:30. So, he offered us a room across town for 25 Euro each. We were desperate, so we accepted. What we got was a hard climb up 6 flights of stairs in a very old, damp building to a small, dingy room. We were promised a "big" bed but what we got was barely bigger than a single and we could feel the springs in our backs. NO airconditioning but there was a fan. No kitchen. I have to say the place was just too expensive for what we got and the only thing good about it was the friendliness of the staff. The next night, we booked Hostel Santa Monaco, which was much better all around.

"aily house in Florence was a pretty ordinary experience"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   James H. of london, England
Reviewed:   August 8, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i hardly met management as they were never there.
the beds had 'bed lice'
the shower was moldy
the bathroom floor was constantly wet
good location

"Aily Home"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Katie T. of Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 28, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Florence was a beautiful city, but in the heat in the summer having no air conditioning and no fan was a nightmarish experiance. The hostel had an aura of friendly disorganisation, though I really must stress the friendly as everyone was so nice. However the best thing i can say for it is that the memories of those plastic sheets and crappy showers make me so pleased to that I never have to go back. Yet if you want budget and can deal with heat try it just for the convenient location. O and avoid the lift some poor sod got stuck in it


1 - 10 of 10 reviews




EuroHostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us